Sunset – II

This is another post for the Sunset from my cam 🙂 🙂 🙂

I was travelling west

Chasing the sunset

Days were not quite long enough and any extension was welcome

But I never quite seemed to run fast enough

And though I ran faster and faster

And days became longer and longer

The sun would each day

Slip inexorably below the horizon

At one point on my travels

Just at dawn, or just at sunset

I can never quite remember

I stopped to rest at a road-side cafe

And by chance I met a woman going east

Chasing the dawn

Trying to make the nights shorter

Her name was Magic

And she carried a staff in her right hand

She wore a yellow cat-suit and a green silken robe

And she was befriended by a black cat with a golden collar

We arranged to meet again,

and as I ran faster so did she

until finally on the dawn of one of our meetings

we both arrived, me from the east

she from the west

and collapsed exhausted in each other’s arms

She kissed me warmly

And pressed her body into mine

I buried my face in her neck

And in the next moment I was holding nothing for comfort

Just my heart beat racing

A shiver running up my spine

A tingling gasp of breath

She was gone, as mysteriously as she came

She had said nothing but I’d heard every word

And she left me in WONDER

at her exactness ……

She was travelling east

Impatient for the dawn

Nights were too long

And any reduction was welcome

But she never quite seemed to run fast enough

And though she ran faster and faster

And nights became shorter and shorter

The hours would drag

The wolves would howl

The moon would light her footprints

And the shadows would fill her with fear

At one point on her journey

Just at dawn, or just at sunset

She could never quite remember

She stopped to rest at a road-side cafe

And by chance she met a man going west

Chasing the sunset

Trying to make the days longer

His name was Poetry and he carried nothing

He was all but naked and befriended by no-one

They arranged to meet again

And as he ran faster so did she

Until finally on the dawn of one of their meetings

They both arrived as the day was breaking

And happiness danced about

Like a smile that found its soul

You see,

I used to pray to live forever

But now I only pray to be a poet

I travel west …. chasing the sunset……

Hi there! Welcome to my Blog! Do leave your Valuable comments on this post!

