Celosia argentea – Flower Week

Are you surprised to hear this name? Well if you are not that’s okay. But am really surprised of this name. The reason is i haven’t known that this flower might have such a beautiful name. We used to call it as “koli kondai” in our city.

Anyways happy to know the new and real names of so many flowers which we don’t know. Hope to know a lot more yet with my Blogging 🙂 🙂 🙂

I love the color of this flower a lot and love its softy skin too 🙂

Isn’t it looking lovely and colorful 🙂 Guess i would have added it for the colorful photography week 😕

8 comments

  1. Hi Tinytoes,
    Very interesting blogs and pictures…..Out of obsolute curiosity, how did you arrive at the name ‘Zizyphu-jujuba’ for the ‘koli kondai’ flower?????
    1. Can you please google to find out what ‘zizyphu-jujuba’ means.
    2. Can you also google to find out what ‘celosia argentea’ or just ‘celosia’ mean.

    Thanks

    1. Hello Sridhar!
      Its nice meeting you here 🙂 And as far your question i think i have done a blunder here… I was searching for the name of this flower from Tamil to English and i arrived at this word from the below given site link:
      http://envis.frlht.org/trade_search.php?lst_part=FRUIT&lst_trade=OONAV+(PURE)

      But when i searched for the name you have given me i found it to be the apt word which says i was totally wrong about the name… And i owe all the readers a huge apology for providing a wrong information… So i did changed the posts name now.. Thanks for letting me know this 🙂

  2. Hi Tinytoe,
    You were so quick.
    By the way, let me share my experience of how I landed in your page 🙂 I wanted to know the English name or common name of ‘Koli Kondai’ and searched in google for it. Your page was one of the search results I got (which is the by the way a very interesting blog site – now in my bookmark for regular visit!).

    It was interesting to note that this flower had a lot of uncommon names like Hens Horn, Kondai Poo, Koli poo, etc… etc… I later found that the common name was ‘Cockscomb’ not Hens Horn 🙂 and the genus was Celosia.

    I’m glad that I was able to find the right name for this and also let a few friends know.

    1. Ahhh that’s was nice 🙂 Anyhow thank you so much for trying to correct my mistake and thanks lotzz for bookmarking my page 🙂 🙂 That’s so nice of you to share an information to all :)Keep up with your work Sridhar 🙂

  3. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for beginner blog writers? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

Hi there! Welcome to my Blog! Do leave your Valuable comments on this post!

